United We Spy by Ally Carter

United We Spy by Ally Carter

Title: United We Spy
Author: Ally Carter
Series: Gallagher Girls, #6

In the final installment of the Gallagher Girls series, Cammie Morgan and her friends must stop a malevolent plot by the leaders of the Circle of Cavan that guarantees the collapse of the global equilibrium. The future is rushing toward the seniors and like it or not, Cammie must confront the imminent threat, tackle graduation and decide where life after Gallagher Academy will take her.

I have nothing but high praise for the Gallagher Girls series. From I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You to United We Spy, these books have been nothing but fun and engrossing. And I almost didn’t get to experience any of it. You know the saying, “Don’t judge a book by its cover”? Well, every bookworm has one time or another done just that. I’m guilty of it, which is why I shunned the first book in this series. It looked and sounded pedestrian and juvenile, very easily dismissed. Then I found myself at the library in immediate need of something to read and there it was. The girl with the hand on her hip and the silly title I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You printed right next to her. I can’t tell you why I suddenly changed my mind, call it kismet, but I am ever grateful that I did.

“Slowly, water filled the back of the truck, and as my eyes adjusted to the black, my head swirled. Blood ran down my face. I wanted to be sick or maybe just close my eyes and sleep, but then I thought about what I’d told Bex just days before: what I really wanted to be was alive.”

The evolution of this series and specifically of the protagonist Cammie has been nothing short of extraordinary. In the beginning she was just a chameleon with an ability to disappear into a crowd unnoticed. Not a bad talent for a girl attending the most prestigious all-girl spy school you’ve never heard of. She was young, naive, and inexperienced. You laughed out loud when a cute boy caught her digging through a trash can and she spluttered a silly explanation about her cat Suzie liking glass bottles. Being normal was something Cammie never had the luxury of experiencing, so you lamented as her life became more and more dangerous until she had to admit she was never going to be normal.

The first book was light and fun, and I think a part of me expected it to last. But as the characters grew older, the danger increased and they could no longer ignore the bigger world and the expectations that came with being spies-in-the-making. Cammie’s experiences have taken her from barely being able to speak to a boy to traversing across continents and breaking into secret government facilities.

The Gallagher Girls series excels on so many different levels from strong female characters to enduring female friendships. It deals with the pains of adolescence and the quandary of looming adulthood. It’s a celebration of sisterhood, loyalty, bravery, and the remarkable deeds one can accomplish with the right kind of backup. I will miss the anticipation of a new adventure with Cammie, Bex, Liz, Macey, and Zach…okay, especially Zach. But I am thankful for this rare experience because reading the last book felt like coming home.

Rating: 5/5

★★★★★

One thought on “United We Spy by Ally Carter

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday, #13: Top Ten Books I’ve Read This Year | A Kernel of Nonsense

Share your thoughts here!

