Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano

Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano

Title: Ruin
Author: Lauren DeStefano
Series: Internment Chronicles, #1

Internment is a world all itself, an island suspended above the ground, encompassed by interminable trains. Inhabitants are taught to keep away from the edge and the allure of the ground beneath them. Morgan Stockhour does her best to be a dutiful daughter. After all, her parents have both suffered from the choice her brother made years ago when he decided to jump off the edge of Internment–a desperate decision that left him blind. Morgan knows it’s important for her to be normal and not entertain foreign thoughts of the land below. But when a murdered girl is found and home no longer feels safe, finding a way off Internment may be the only way to escape the real danger.

“The words were meant to frighten me, but instead they filled me with romantic notions that became a part of my game. I began to imagine being carried on the wind and landing on the ground, seeing for myself what was happening below the city. I could imagine such great and impossible things there. Things I didn’t have words for. The madness of youth made me unafraid.”

I will start off with the elements of this book that I liked. I liked how the author was able to paint a perfectly clear relationship between Morgan and her brother, Lex. There was a noticeable chasm between these two that was evident through the hesitancy they both showed toward each other. Morgan’s relationship with her best friend, Pen, was also nicely displayed. I loved how these two were very different and yet were still very loyal to each other. Unfortunately, the author failed to draw the same dynamic between Morgan and her betrothed, Basil. Consequently, Basil comes off as a bit bland.

The problem I had with Perfect Ruin was that reading about Morgan became a tedious business. Too many days passed the same way with nothing happening to contribute to the overall story. Morgan became a lackluster lead and I found myself migrating toward Pen. I loved Pen’s displeasure and boldness. But Morgan was so meek and docile; I really hoped as the novel progressed she would come out of her shell. There is a brief moment where I think it happens, but it felt insincere on the author’s part and is over so quickly I’m convinced it was.

Perfect Ruin would probably be a better read if Morgan and Pen’s personalities were reversed. At least then their respective discontentment and contentment with Internment would stand to reason. Further explanations of this world are also needed to improve this read. A couple of out-of-place characters had me scratching my head and wondering if the author knew the direction of her book before she got to the end. Sadly, it looks as though I will be skipping the next installment.

Rating: 2/5

★★

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

