Boundless by Cynthia Hand

Boundless by Cynthia Hand

Title: Boundless
Author: Cynthia Hand
Series: Unearthly, #3

Boundless is the conclusion to Cynthia Hand’s Unearthly series. It is the conclusion, right? I don’t think my emotions can handle another book. I’ve had this book for almost a year and haven’t had the stomach to pick it up. Why not? It isn’t because the series hasn’t been good, it’s just the opposite. I dreaded the agony I knew I was going to feel, knowing the book was going to explore all those unanswered questions swirling inside of me.

Boundless opens with Clara beginning a new chapter in her life. Leaving Wyoming, she is determined to move forward and start afresh at Stanford, away from the memories of her mom’s departure, the danger from the Black Wings, and Tucker Avery. But Clara is part angel and she is once again burdened by visions of the future, a future filled with darkness and terror.

“It’s funny. Here I’ve been seeing this dark room for months, and I know something bad has happened…and I know it’s not going to do any good for us to hide, and I know that this whole vision could be life or death. Those people, whoever they are, want to kill us. I’ve sensed that from the beginning. But I don’t think I ever truly considered that I might die.”

If I didn’t love books so much, I would have torn the pages of this one to shreds while I was reading. Of course if I didn’t love books so much, I wouldn’t have felt the urge to tear the pages of this one to shreds while I was reading. I confess that most of my agony centered around Clara’s mixed feels for Christian and Tucker. Make no mistake, I am all in when it comes to Tucker Avery. This is probably why I dreaded reading this book so much because I knew Christian would have a more prominent role. Every time he showed up I wanted to throw something. It’s very immature of me and I’m okay with that. Clara definitely cares about him, but I just couldn’t allow myself to like him. I’m either incredibly pro-Tucker or…no, I’m just incredibly pro-Tucker.

I won’t get into all the specifics as to why my conviction goes so deep, though I think it’s pretty clear when you read the two prior novels. Suffice to say, Tucker represents who Clara is apart from her angel roots, whereas Christian is her link to that side of her.

What this book had me contemplating was destiny. What happens when you are given a glimpse of your future? What if there are other things you want? Both sides pull at you. Do you give in and accept the inevitable or do you dig in your heels? What kind of world would it be if we all saw what life held for us? The stubborn part of me (and it’s a large part of me) would resist till it hurt. I couldn’t live like that and because of this I respect the conflicting emotions that Clara experiences. But by golly, Clara, I wanted to scream at you sometimes!

Not every story line is tied up as nicely as I’d have liked. That being said I won’t take away from the rating because this less than tidy ending evokes a sense of realism. I should probably be more extensive, but I just finished this book tonight and I can’t get my emotions righted presently.

Rating: 4/5

★★★★

Share your thoughts here!

