Gravity by Melissa West

Gravity by Melissa West

Title: Gravity
Author: Melissa West
Series: The Taking, #1

I was really surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. I usually avoid books under 300 pages unless they’re classics because I always feel like the author didn’t have enough to work with and the book ends up being underdeveloped. This book is one of those exceptions.

“I know I should try to remember what to do and how and when. But all I can think about is…how I will have to do this by myself, in the darkness of my room, waiting, blind and immobilized…as one of them comes for me.”

Earth has been devastated by multiple World Wars and the only hope of replenishing our planet lies with the Ancients. A people in search of their own salvation, these alien entities negotiate a deal with humanity: at night they come to take from humans what is necessary for their survival and in return Earth is returned to its former glory. But can two different species coexist? Politics, enemy spies, and the lengths these two peoples will go to protect their own make this story so compelling.

It’s important for me that authors create a main character I can respect. This doesn’t mean the character has no flaws; it doesn’t mean I don’t scream at the book begging the protagonist to open his or her eyes; it doesn’t even mean I have to necessarily agree with every decision the character makes. It does mean that I expect a certain level of capability and I expect this to be consistent throughout the entire book. By the end of Gravity I learned to respect Ari as a strong, brave, and highly capable individual. She defines who she is and doesn’t just go along with the expectations of others. Even when faces with horrible odds and increasing levels of danger, Ari doesn’t back down from doing what she thinks is right.

The pace of Gravity had me hurling toward the end, though there were a couple of places where the plot dipped unnecessarily in order to establish the romantic entanglements of Ari. This didn’t bother me too much because I became too invested in the larger picture and plot, which is extremely more complicated than I first thought. The last page opens up a myriad of possibilities that has me itching for Hover, Melissa West’s second book in the The Taking series.

Rating: 4/5

4star

One thought on “Gravity by Melissa West

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

